Goodnight Carrie Fisher. 

Like many, I too,  loved Carrie Fisher. Carrie was an intelligent, funny, straight-forward, sharp, humble,  talented star who we shall all miss. From her iconic role as Princess Leia in Star Wars to her many candid but hilarious books to her constant work as a mental health advocate, she was an incredible lady who gave us all so much, in many different but exceptional ways. She is now immortal, her canon of work never forgotten, her legacy a testement to the inspiring woman that she was. 

Here are some of my favourite quotes. 

People are still asking me if I knew Star Wars was going to be that big of a hit. Yes, we all knew. The only one who didn’t know was George.


Actually, I am a failed anorexic. I have anorexic thinking, but I can’t seem to muster the behaviour.

Writing is very calming for me. 

I thought I would inaugurate a Bipolar Pride Day. You know, with floats and parades and stuff! On the floats we would get the depressives, and they wouldn’t even have to leave their beds – we’d just roll their beds out of their houses, and they could continue staring off miserably into space. And then for the manics, we’d have the manic marching band, with manics laughing and talking and shopping and fucking and making bad judgment calls.

I’ve got to stop getting obsessed with human beings and fall in love with a chair. Chairs have everything human beings have to offer, and less, which is obviously what I need. Less emotional feedback, less warmth, less approval, less patience and less response. The less the merrier. Chairs it is. I must furnish my heart with feelings for furniture.

Sometimes I feel like I’ve got my nose pressed up against the window of a bakery, only I’m the bread.” 

You know the bad thing about being a survivor… You keep having to get into difficult situations in order to show off your gift.

I don’t hate hardly ever, and when I love, I love for miles and miles. A love so big it should either be outlawed or it should have a capital and its own currency.

Stay afraid, but do it anyway. What’s important is the action. You don’t have to wait to be confident. Just do it and eventually the confidence will follow.

Youth and beauty are not accomplishments. They’re the temporary happy byproducts of time and/or DNA. Don’t hold your breath for either. 

You know what’s funny about death? I mean other than absolutely nothing at all? You’d think we could remember finding out we weren’t immortal. Sometimes I see children sobbing in airports and I think, “Aww. They’ve just been told.

I signed my likeness away. Every time I look in the mirror, I have to send Lucus a couple of bucks.

Leia is not a real character. She is more of a caricature, and is somewhat one -dimensional. It’s not really possible to write out a list of Princess Leia’s likes and dislikes. I do know her favourite colour, though, it’s white. She wears white all the time. But that doesn’t help me much. 

I think of my body as a side effect of my mind. 

I heard someone say once that many of us only seem able to find heaven by backing away from hell. And while the place that I’ve arrived at in my life may not precisely be everyone’s idea of heavenly, I could swear sometimes — I hear angels sing.

Goodnight Carrie xx

Follow me on social media for stories, poetry, monologues,  oddness and my life as a unpublished author. I am changing this trajectory, one moan at a time.

Facebook writerhenriettamross

Twitter @hettiross

Instagram henriettaweed.

Pinterest HenriettaMRoss

Or follow my cranky newsletter.

Thanks for stopping by ♥ Please share this post if you like it. I need YOU!

4 thoughts on “Goodnight Carrie Fisher. 

Have a chat with me

